Sept 22 rapid city South Dakota to Denver CO

We had a big breakfast, got the bus to the airport. We are thankful that the bus driver is taking our huge filled luggage back to fl on his bus…so grateful not to deal with it. However, we seem to always have a travel story and yep we have another. We took off 1hr and 10 mins late..do you think a plane at the other end in Denver will wait..ha it did not.  So we are stuck in Denver all  37 older folks like 70s, 80s etc.  are stuck.

well we end up at the Marriott over nite. But we have a plane to catch at 8am. AND we are not sitting together..that sucks. But no fear we talk to a man I met in the hall of the hotel and he is in back of me he trades seats. Then a lady from PORT is seating next to me and we ask her to change ..yippee we are together!

But let me think back on my trip.  I never realized how much endless prairie land there is which is enormous.  I didn’t realize how much cattle there are in Wyoming huge ranches and they stretch forever and they are grass fed. Healthy cows.

I got to see Bison roaming the plains and crossing the road in front of the bus.  We saw  goats with horns on a Mtn, elk and deer in the woods, prairie dogs running in their field and they are tiny!  I didn’t get to see a grizzly bear, or a moose and I  would have liked too. 

I was glad to see mt Rushmore, and old faithful, Custer park, and memorial. But the most beautiful place was glacier national park. Most disappointing is Mt Rushmore it is exactly like the picture. The badlands are crazy and canyons and jagged MTns. Hard to capture in film.

I’ve eaten more than I should have and once again will have to excercise it off. It was a delight to go with these older folks. They have energy  and have a good time. I want to be like them. I was surprised to see canyons in Yosemite. I want to thank all of you who have enjoyed my blog. Your comments give me pause to smile. Luv ya for coming along.
Denver gave me pause, with all the people, traffic, lights housing congestion it is another life completely out west. It was interesting traveling in and out of a suitcase. I don’t know if I could do it for more than 2 weeks. It is not my preference as I’m partial to cruises. But you can’t see the west any other way. We may come back with our RV.
Well I am not home yet so there may be more tomorrow to finish the trip home . Stay tuned! So we fly home in our morning flight. It felt like I was in a jarasic park movie set or gediup cowboy and Indian movie. 

Upon rethinking we are not sure we will take a road trip with these older folks. Many need help and watch at least 20% needed walkers or chairs. I get it but not sure I want to travel with it.We finally get home after picking up the kiddies. So home home on the range, I mean along with the Palm trees. Talk about a contrast. But it’s always good to come home.

Stay tuned another blog begins in Dec. luv ya and thanks again.

Leave a comment